The Big 30!


My hubby is turning 30 in 10 days.

I have a few surprises planned for him, which I hope will make it a very memorable week-end. (I will discuss the surprises after his birthday – sorry, but if by any chance he is reading this post before the big day, I dont want to ruin what I have been planning for the last 2 months!)

As part of the big day, we (his friends and I) are taking him out to one of his favorite restaurants, and after dinner, we are all going back to our house for a party =) The next day (hopefully, when he is somewhat sober)  we will have the family over and I will make him one of his favorite dishes for dinner and a DQ Ice Cream Cake for dessert!

His milestone birthday has me thinking about mine, which is coming up in September. I don’t feel like I’m about to turn 30. I don’t dress my age, I don’t think my age, and I certainly don’t act my age…  Yet, I still find myself struggling about turning 30 and whether I have accomplished everything I wanted before this birthday milestone.  I don’t know if I ever even made that checklist for myself….Maybe I should! But what would I put on it? I am married to a great person, living in the suburbs  in a nice house, with the cutest dog that ever existed. I have a good education and a good job, which does have room for improvement, but at least I have a job. I have lived in 3 different continents and traveled to many beautiful places…. So what can I put in that list to accomplish in the next 10 months that I haven’t already done? And is 10 months enough to accomplish anything?!….is this a how a mid-life crisis starts?!?

Most of the items on my checklist have something to do with food and/or travel….maybe I should look for a job as a travelling food taster?…Anyway, the one accomplishment on top of my checklist  is actually a joint venture with my hubby…. and it would (or could) take less than 10 months to achieve ;o) It’s a petrifying, life changing, beautiful (hopefully blonde and chubby),  expensive and a big responsibility accomplishment….but it would be the BEST one.

Anyway, this milestone is all about him, so hopefully he has an amazing one, and I pray that he has achieved everything he had on his checklist!

One thought on “The Big 30!

  1. Ok, so my hubby’s birthday passed and I gave him a great surprise…. I had bought him 30 gifts for his 30th! It wasn’t easy, and I had a list started 2 months ago. I got him romantic stuff (use your imagination!), fun stuff (games, toys, tools), essentials (clothing, underwear, scarf), chocolates, subscriptions (netflix, magazine), WoW related, a Cigar and more….
    The key was to have a spending limit in total and per item…. It was fun buying them, and hiding it around the house, and it was amazing seeing his face opening each presents….

Leave a comment